an ending.

Dear readers (reader if I’m lucky, let’s be honest),

I have officially graduated from high school. A huge chapter of my life has come to a close. Last night as I donned my gold sash, paraded in to the sound of the dreaded bagpipes (Why bagpipes in Australia I ask you?) and sat still for 3 hours just waiting for the speeches to be over, I realised that I was no longer a high school student. I had become a graduate. This place in which I had spent the majority of my waking time in since I transferred there in Grade 4, this place that is 5 minutes from my house, this place where I had made friends and become the person I am today, I have outgrown.

I am a person who loves school. I always have. I love my teachers and the way they try to make even the worst content engaging and fun. I actually love having work to do because it keeps me busy and makes me feel like I’m doing something. I like routine. I like seeing my friends every day. I like school. Which is probably why I want to train to go back there in a different role. To help the kids who don’t like school, who don’t like learning and to work with those who do.

None of that was the point of this post. I am clearly a mess already.

Endings are weird. They’re scary and sad but they are also so exciting. I get to try new things, I get to read again, I get to meet new people and I get to do all of this knowing that failure isn’t really something to be afraid of. Now I get to do what I want to do and spend time on the people and things that I love.

I’m not really an adult yet and I don’t think I every really will be, but now I get to pretend for a while.

These were just a few thoughts on my entire life changing, not that you really care.

I hope you’re having a nice day.

Leave a Reply

