shrill – notes on some notes from a loud woman 

A kind of review (but mostly just me gushing).

Shrill – Notes from a loud woman by Lindy West         4.75 stars

I am in love with Lindy West after my 288-page journey with her. Her work was not something that I was familiar with but ‘Shrill’ seemed to fit the brand of funny, feminist memoir that I adore, so, I picked it up on a whim when I stumbled across it at the library. From the very first page, I knew that I was going to have a good time. I read this book in almost one session. I devoured it.

Lindy had that kind of voice that feels friendly and familiar. She writes like a real person and she doesn’t hold back. This makes all of the essays flow. It feels like you’re having a conversation, that she is sharing her thoughts, feelings and experiences with you personally.

Personally, I found Lindy very relatable. I’ve experienced much of the same body confidence issues and reading about somebody else, who has felt the same way and overcome it, really helped to push me in my own journey to self-acceptance. I mean, I have quite a ways to go, but every little bit helps.

This is a book that I would love to give to so many of the people that I went to high school with because it tackles feminist topics that are more approachable with anecdotal evidence. From rape jokes to abortion and treating people like human beings. I want to throw this book at some people but they’d probably go “HA feminazi pig get memed”, so, it wouldn’t be worth it. Or would it?

I loved that Lindy was constantly reminding the reader to consider their own voice and the changes that they can make by speaking up. There were times in the last few years where I was made to feel like I should remain silent and that my opinions were invalid and annoying. Lindy reminded me of the importance of making my voice heard, and I thank her for that.

Seriously, pick up this book. Give it a go. I’d summarise and quote but you should just go and read it for yourself.

 

Leave a Reply

