silver stars by michael grant – a review.

When is the sequel better than the first? When it’s Silver Stars. That’s when.

I fugging love this series. See what I did there? I’m so funny and relatable. This is the second book in an alternate WWII YA series which follows a series of diverse female protagonists through their war experiences. I reviewed the first book here. The second book follows our girls; Rio, Frangie and Rainy, as the allied forces move into Sicily and then Italy.

I won’t say too much because of spoilers, duh. But I will say that this book topped the first which I didn’t think was possible. I love these characters. Michael Grant has a way of drawing you into the action. This is about as close to a war movie in book form as you can get. Like, most of the characters should be dead by now but I don’t care because I’m sure as hell happy that they’re alive. Well, the one’s that still are. That’s not a spoiler, it’s a war book, people die in wars.

The series isn’t always realistic. Like, most of the characters should be dead by now but I don’t care because I’m sure as hell happy that they’re alive. Well, the one’s that still are. That’s not a spoiler, it’s a war book, people die in wars. The ending was a little obvious but I loved it anyway so I’m not going to complain about it. That’s silly. My girls. Ah.

Rainy took on a much larger role in this book which was awesome to see. Even if I need to have serious words with Mr. Grant about the emotional turmoil that he puts me through as I read these books. It’s honestly not okay. I cried a lot reading this book. It isn’t even particularly sad, I just want to give everyone a hug and let them take a long nap, but alas, I am powerless to protect my children.

It isn’t very often that one comes across a YA book that makes you say ew. That doesn’t shy away from the reality of violence. The most you usually see is a little blood. Michael Grant makes you see how awful war is. He makes you feel it. I love him for it.

Honestly, this series that I picked up for a bit of a meme, just waiting for Grant to fail, has become one of my favourite series. Good job, Michael Grant, for making a YA novel that is bold and diverse, raw and honest. That doesn’t shy away from violence and sex. It’s pretty great.

One complaint. I am not Strand or Jack, and that is just simply not acceptable. Please fix this as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

